Qualification Criteria for Canada Immigration

Qualification Criteria for Canada Immigration

Qualification Criteria for Canada Immigration through the Federal Skilled Worker Program

The Federal Skilled Worker Program, which falls under the Express Entry system, allows eligible individuals from around the world to immigrate to Canada. The program’s main objective is to select candidates with the highest potential for successful settlement in Canada.

As one of the two primary federal programs for skilled workers under Express Entry, the Federal Skilled Worker Program (FSWP) works in conjunction with the Canadian Experience Class.

Candidates who meet the minimum entry criteria from a pool of 370 eligible occupations can submit their profiles to the Express Entry Pool.

Profiles in the pool are ranked using the Comprehensive Ranking System (CRS), and those with the highest rankings receive Invitations to Apply (ITAs) for permanent residence.

Once invited, candidates must submit a complete application within 60 days.

To qualify for the Federal Skilled Worker Program, applicants must fulfill the following conditions:

  1. Possess at least one year of continuous full-time paid work experience or its equivalent in part-time continuous employment within the past 10 years in one of the 370 eligible occupations listed in the National Occupational Classification (NOC) system.
  2. The work experience must fall under NOC skill levels 0 (management occupations), 1 (occupations that typically require a university degree), 2 (occupations that require a college diploma, apprenticeship training of 2 or more years, or supervisory roles), or 3 (occupations that require a college diploma, apprenticeship training of less than 2 years, or over 6 months of on-the-job training).
  3. Score sufficient points on the skilled worker selection grid, which comprises six selection factors.
  4. Undergo language testing from a recognized third party and demonstrate intermediate level language skills in English or French (Canadian Language Benchmark 7).
  5. Have suitable settlement funding.
  6. Undergo successful security background and medical examinations.

Qualified applicants are evaluated based on six selection factors, with a total of 67 points out of 100 required for eligibility. These factors are:

  1. Education (maximum 25 points)
  2. Language proficiency (minimum 16 points, maximum 28 points)
  3. Employment experience (minimum 9 points, maximum 15 points)
  4. Age (maximum 12 points)
  5. Arranged employment (0 or 10 points)
  6. Adaptability (maximum 10 points)

The points allocated under each factor depend on the applicant’s education, language proficiency, work experience, age, arranged Canadian employment, and adaptability.

Meeting the qualification criteria under the Federal Skilled Worker Program opens the path for skilled workers to immigrate to Canada and contribute to the country’s diverse and thriving society.

Schedule a meeting

Let’s discuss the details

Schedule a meeting at one of the offices or online. A lawyer will analyze the situation, calculate the cost and help you find a solution based on your goals.